Meet papercrane

In the vein of the previous Meet the Team post(s) I'd like to introduce myself. When Glitch shut down I was working on Idle Worship, a multiplayer online game which had some aspects in common with Glitch (great art and quirky tongue in cheek writing in particular). Like all of you I was devastated with Glitch shut down. I was there at the end (boy what a way to go out!) but lost track of the Glitchen shortly thereafter as I was focused on keeping another game running. Unfortunately the demise of Glitch was the writing on the wall and Idle Worship shut down not long thereafter.

Enough about the sad times, though!

I'm a software developer and systems architect who has been working on web related technologies for about 15 years. I've built webpages, browser applications, and flash games as well as built massive scale database systems, server clusters, and backend APIs which have handled many millions of requests a day. In my free time I play all sorts of games on just about every platform but I spend just as much time coding in my free time, working on open source software or random projects of my own (a Python/OpenCL raytracer, a scheme interpreter, and anything else that grabs my fancy).

During the Glitch Soundtrack release party I found Glitch Forever and Eleven Giants. I was amazed that so much work had been done to get Glitch back up and running. I offered to help and since then I've fixed a few bugs and started hooking up the avatar customizer to the game. I plan to keep working on whatever needs doing until we've resurrected the game we all love.

See you in the game!

Comments

• Glad to meet you papercrane! Thanks for all the hard work you're putting in to bring the world of Ur back to the Glitchen : )
  • Nice to know more about you papercrane, very glad you can help with Eleven! Thank you!
  • Thank you for your devotion and time and knowledge.
  • Thank you for your contributions, papercrane. I love you.
  • Thank you papercrane!!!